A Life Celebrated

This week a very dear friend died. Only nine years older than me and battling her third cancer. Sadly, despite all her strength and the love and support of friends and family, she left us on Sunday night.

I met her when I was in my early 20s and she gave me my first smutty book. I looked up to her and she took me under her wing. She taught me things about myself and taught me things about the world. She was bold and adventurous in every aspect of her life. She always encouraged and pushed me to go just a little bit further, to reach a little bit higher, to love a little bit stronger.

By the time I was in my 30s the relationship had balanced out: we were no longer mentor and protégé; we were best friends.

This post is to celebrate the life of a magnificent woman who lived every moment fully and loved passionately. She will be deeply missed and always loved.

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. In praise of best friends « The Ladygarden Project

Leave a Reply

