Join the sexual evolution

The Ladygarden Project is delighted to announce that we have a guest blogger in the house!

(Watch this space for more guest bloggers over the coming few weeks. If you would like to contribute a piece in celebration and exploration of women’s sexuality, please get in contact)

Jilly Boyd is a 21 year old sex blogger and erotica author. She adores sex as much as she likes cakes and books (which is a lot), and likes to hide away in London, where she feels at home. She blogs at Lady Laid Bare.

If I told you I was a sex blogger, would you bat an eyelid?

Nah, I’m guessing not. You’d probably ask me why I am one though.

And I’ll smile, and tell you that it was just something that I felt I needed to do. And I’d be telling you the truth.

I did feel like I needed to do it. A year ago, when I started the blog, I was in a very transitional phase in my life. I was out of school, without a job, and had a burning desire to chart what was happening to me.

I was always rather awkward about sex. Obsessed to the nth degree, but shy when it came down to it. I didn’t have sex. I didn’t kiss. I didn’t masturbate.

So when one night I decided to finally bite the bullet and touch myself, the gears were set in motion. I distinctly remember saying to myself, “Holy bejesus, why haven’t I done this before?” Because it was just that fucking good.

I was intrigued by the workings of my own body. Is this pleasure? Is this what it’s supposed to feel like? I set off exploring. Soon, I was addicted. I worked my way up to my first orgasm, and when that happened, my world was rocked.

A few months later, my first vibrator came into play. I actually had to ask my mum to get one from the drugstore, because I was fucking embarrassed!

I started experimenting with it, keen to see how it could heighten my pleasure. I was changing, becoming more aware of my own body. And I really liked it.

The first time I set foot in a sex shop will remain firmly engrained in my memory until the day I die (and I suspect long into the afterlife). I brought my mum in with me, and shuffled around, looking at huge jelly dong dildos, surely the most terrifying sight in the life of my sprightly vagina.

Mum was being no help.  She actually asked which vibrator gives the most pleasure. To another person. The vendor.

I was mortified! My own mother was trying to deduce which vibrator would be best for me!

In the end, I got one. It broke, but hey.

In the end, the experience, along with Valentines having just passed, formed the basis of my opening gambit on the blog.

And it paid off. Through my blog, I’ve not only met new friends and done amazing things, I’ve actually managed to successfully track my sexual evolution for an entire year. I discovered so much about myself, and I feel like a much more mature person than I was fourteen months ago.

And that’s why I think exploring and celebrating sexuality is such a wonderful and essential thing. You learn so much about yourself when you explore your boundaries, wants, lusts and hates. I’ve lost so many inhibitions and prejudices during this time.

(The only thing I haven’t manage to lose is my virginity, but that’s an entirely different cup of tea. I’d call it a hefty Darjeeling. With sugar.)

Sexuality and sex is such an important part of my life now. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

©Jill Boyd

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. heathercoleatvaginaantics

     /  April 23, 2012

    Wonderful writing! I laughed out loud especially about the sex shop part with your mum. I *wish* my mother would go with me. She needs a good vibrator! (love you, mama!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

